Located alongside US Highway 18 in Herrick, SD, Gregory County
The Elevator was built in 1907, and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. The elevator was in service until 1998. It has since been restored along with the attached shed that has been converted into lodging.
This is a very unique property with a lot of history, from the elevator to the inside of the lodge with notes on where furnishings were from, right down to where the wood used in the lodge came from.
The lodge has 5 bedrooms, (3) 3/4 baths (walk-in showers), kitchen, large dining area, living-room, and a loft overlooking the dining area. There is also a gift shop/ bar attached with a 1/2 bath and entrances from the outside or lodge area.